Eat What You Kill: How a Business Metaphor Became my Literal Reality

The result of my first deer hunt

A few weeks ago I went hunting for the first time in my life. Not metaphorical hunting for sales prospects or new distribution channels as I do regularly in my vocation. Real hunting. Bona fide freeze-your-ass-off-in-a-tree-stand-with-a-rifle deer hunting. What started as a philosophical exploration and desire to test my personal resolve on various levels ended in the killing of a deer: a very sizable one at that. And the killing of a deer resulted in a freezer full of wild venison–the best tasting meat I’ve probably ever had in my life. (2011 is going to a be a great year of unique homemade meals for my family: venison tacos and taco salads, burgers, steaks, stews, stir-frys, and sausages.) The experience will be memorialized beyond 2011 with a head mount of “Big Red” (as my father-in-law calls him because of the patch of reddish fur on his forehead) in our basement.

I am thankful to Big Red for the incredible lasting nourishment he will provide my family in his death. I am also thankful that I was able to take him with a clean shot that stopped him dead in his tracks with no struggle or suffering (a life lived and death reached at least as humanely if not more so than the pigs, cows, and chickens that are slaughtered by the millions in our industrialized food system).

So here I now sit a hunter with his bounty, all because that six-year-old ten-point buck decided to walk within 70 yards of my location in the Northeastern Pennsylvania woods on a bitterly cold December morning. And I pulled the trigger.

Leave a Reply

