Thanksgiving Confessions of an Ornery Atheist (via Away Point)

Harvesting new corn from the field of Jim Norr...

Image by The Library of Congress via Flickr

Many of Dr. Valerie Tarico’s thoughts and observations resonate with me today. Some might see it as contradictory for a non-believer to be an active participant in Thanksgiving, to celebrate life’s many blessings in the absence of a divine benefactor. Yet my heart is filled with gratitude: thankfulness to the animals who give their lives for our nourishment. Gratitude to the farmers, laborers, truck drivers, and shelf-stockers who help get our food from farm to table. I give thanks to the scientists, doctors, and engineers whose innovation and toil help improve the quality and duration of our lives. I recognize the service of those in our armed forces, regardless of political affiliation. And last, but far from least, I thank my friends and family for the sacrifices they’ve made and continue to make on my behalf, and everything they do to enrich my life.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone: regardless of whoever or whatever the object of your thanks is today.

As a child I liked Thanksgiving hymns even better than Christmas carols – perhaps because I’ve always been a bit of a contrarian.  My daughter, Brynn, is the same way.  Case in point:  She probably would have disliked the Twilight books even if her friends hadn’t crooned over them.  But the abject loathing she expressed whenever they were mentioned, coupled with facial contortions and intermittent retching noises, were, by her own admission “beca … Read More

via Away Point

Leave a Reply

