So You Think You Can Dance? You Can’t.

My wife and I were drawn into the Fox television show “So You Think You Can Dance” this year by the enormous talent of this year’s contestants. Neither of us are dance aficionados, but we were truly moved by the sheer beauty of many of the performances. My personal favorite was a hip-hop routine featuring contestant Alex Wong. It stands on its own as a killer routine, but it’s even more impressive with the knowledge that Wong has no background in hip-hop dance. In fact, he’s a trained ballet dancer, and not just any ballet dancer: he’s a former principal soloist with the Miami City Ballet. (The choreography brilliantly incorporates this fact into its motif.) Unfortunately, Wong got injured a month ago and had to drop out of the competition. Even so, they replayed the routine on tonight’s finals show. Check it out here.

2 comments on “So You Think You Can Dance? You Can’t.

  1. David
    August 13, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    A routine in nearly every episode this season choked me up or had me in tears. I guess I’d hardly realized the power of dance artistry. When music and emotion and the human body intertwine, so much is possible. I’ve seriously considered finding a dance class to take myself. I find myself dancing around the house after the show. It was so easy to get wrapped up this season and fall in love with the contestants! I’m so sad I have to wait another year for the next season!

    P.S. If you guys want to go see the tour, my arm could be twisted. 🙂

    • Louis
      August 13, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      David–I couldn’t agree with you more. There were so many routines that had me looking at Steph out of the corner of my eye to make sure she was as salty as I was! We talked about going to the tour–any idea when they are slated for Chicago?

Leave a Reply

