15 x 32

Fifteen by thirty-two. No, these aren’t the dimensions of our driveway or a billboard on the side of the highway (at least I don’t think they are!). 15 x 32 is just a cheesy title for a fitness goal I’m setting for myself: 15% body fat by age 32. My birthday is in early May, which gives me a little over two months to whip myself into shape. To-date, I’ve managed to keep the weight off from the corporate “biggest loser” competition I won last year, but I feel like I need a little spark to take it to the next level.

Now, I know by most standards I’m already in decent shape: I have a healthy BMI (Body Mass Index), low blood pressure, and other average to above-average vitals. Even my body fat % is considered average (I’m currently at about 21%–see chart below).

Despite all that’s well about my physical fitness, I really yearn for a challenge right now. I want to stay sharp and continue to foster the practice of self-discipline that helped me achieve victory last year. (As many of you probably know, fat loss isn’t just challenging physically; there’s a significant mental factor as well.) As far as how I plan to tackle this personal challenge, here’s a hint: I’m not going low-carb or planning on working out for hours on end. Another hint: I have a trainer and his name is Grok. More to come…

2 comments on “15 x 32

  1. Matthew Schmitt
    February 28, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Now I know why you asked if we had reviewed your most recent blog. When I saw the 15 X 32 title my first impression was the shirt size 15″ neck and 32″ arm length. But then I remembered your arms are longer than that.
    A trainer with the name Grok sounds interesting. My guess is that you are going to be doing some different type of fat burning/toning training. I have every confidence you’ll achieve your goal. Will look forward to hearing of your progress.

  2. Maria Diaz Schmitt
    February 28, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    I should have known that 15 X 32 would not be a shirt size for you given your long volleyball arms! I am so proud of the challenge that you are taking and want to learn from it given my short chubby body but do I have the discipline? Do it now in your thirties because it will be much harder in your forties and certainly in your fifties.

Leave a Reply

